Irish Autumn – Part 1: Photo Album

It is autumn! Having already settled in to the work-sleep-repeat routine again, I am reminiscing about my September holidays in Ireland. So, in honour of this wonderful country, I would like to start a little series – Irish autumn. Here’s the first instalment of it (something I prepared earlier…).

As the leaves are beginning to turn yellow and orange outside of my window and my much anticipated late summer holidays draw to a close, my head is still full of pictures and impressions gathered at the beginning of it, when I visited what is probably the most beautiful place on earth. And this place is nowhere near the Caribbean Sea or the Indian Ocean. It is a place much closer to my own doorstep. Ireland, I missed you. And after more than ten years we have finally met again.

When the Bean (aka boyfriend) and me set off for our week of calm on the Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry, we were prepared for spending most of our time inside playing board games, reading, cooking and just generally doing nothing that is the least bit stressful (the weather forecast had predicted a full seven days of dark grey clouds and rain). And that was all I wanted, really. A change of pace. Getting out of the city and out of day-to-day business. Luckily, though, the weather turned out to be much better than expected and so, in the end, we actually spend most of our time exploring. Because what I had forgotten is that on this stretch of land, it is practically impossible not to be out and about. To be surrounded by so much beauty and quiet and force of nature and reminders of the past somehow makes you calm inside. And aware. Of yourself and of others and of all the things around you. Which is something I have been trying to hold on to after returning home. And looking at these pictures helps to keep the mindset this place has put me in vivid.

 

Driving around the breathtaking Slea Head. Stopping every few meters to absorb the ridiculous view.

Driving around the breathtaking Slea Head. Stopping every few meters to absorb the ridiculous view.

 

kerrygold

Just like in the Kerrygold ads 😉

 

cloudwandering

Wandering inside the clouds…

 

Great Blasket Island

…and on Great Blasket Island.

 

Sheep poo. Sheep poo everywhere.

Sheep poo. Sheep poo everywhere.

 

And suddenly, castle.

And suddenly, castle.

 

Sunset at Inch Beach.

Sunset at Inch Beach.

 

Enjoying life with a view (Inch Beach in the background)…

Enjoying life with a view (Inch Beach in the background)…

 

…and in the pub.

…and in the pub.

 

At least one of our board games came to fulfil its purpose.

At least one of our board games came to fulfil its purpose.

 

Irish Mr Cat and me

Look! It’s a little Mr Cat! One that speaks Irish.

 

trading books for trainers

Books for trainers – legit tradeoff is legit.

 

At the end of our week on holidays I had acquired too many things to fit into the suitcase (meaning too many books). So my trainers had to stay. But it’s ok, these shoes have served me well for about ten years and were not exactly comfy anymore. The books, however, will probably become the main characters of the next blog post.

Corca Dhuibhne, it was a pleasure. I promise that it will not be ten years until we see each other again.

Leave a Reply

